Keyframe changes for FX within clips

Patrick-Ewing wrote on 5/17/2019, 4:37 PM

I'm new to PRO 16 and a casual user in general and am editing some old silent 8mm digitally captured videos from my late grandparents where the brightness / contrast change frequently. I've seen some videos of older versions of Vegas where the FX effects had a keyframe timeline below the effect where you could add a keyframe to change the brightness / contrast and as the video played it'd transition to the through the various keyframe changes adjusting the brightness / contrast. However when I add the FX brightness / contrast it doesn't show a keyframe timeline in the video event window. I'm not sure my terminology is correct regarding the keyframe timeline. Was this feature removed or changed somehow? I see the pan / crop still has the keyframe timeline. Is there a quicker or better way of color / brightness / contrast adjusting multiple changes within a clip without having to splice it into multiple clips? Posts Tips suggest to post hardware & OS - Windows 10, 32GB, I7-6700, GTX 1080, 1TB M.2, mirrored 4TB drives.

Comments

Patrick-Ewing wrote on 5/17/2019, 4:50 PM

After looking some more I see there is a clock icon after each effect option which is used to animate. I'll see if I can find a tutorial on using the clock to do these effect changes.

fr0sty wrote on 5/20/2019, 4:06 PM

Just about any effect in Vegas can be keyframed. Click that clock, make an adjustment, a keyframe is auto generated. Move to another part of that timeline window that appears when you click the clock, add another keyframe just by changing the slider to another value. There is also a button that makes where you click on the keyframe timeline sync with the playback cursor on the actual timeline.

j-v wrote on 5/20/2019, 5:07 PM