Analog Capturing

Skywatcher wrote on 2/4/2004, 11:55 PM
Hey guys,

Newbie here. I've been using Vegas 4.0 for a year now and I think I've gotten it to do things the designers never thought it could. I would put this editing package up against any others out there! Here's my problem:

I'm capturing analog AV thru an ATI Radeon 8500 card. I am using S-video connections. Video and Audio Captures fine. Playing back the uncompressed AVI losses some quality, but I can live with it for now. After adding text (or not adding text), I rendering using the optimum settings and the final product is very poor and somewhat blurred. Even the text is pixelated and unreadable at lower fonts. At first, when I started using Vegas, I didn't have this problem, since I've learned more I started making setting changes and maybe I messed up something. The final product is going bact to tape for a TV Program and I need the quality back up.

What did I do wrong, and is it time to just invest in a Canopus ADVC 100. Help me please, It's okay to be brutally honest...the show must go on!

Skywatcher

Comments

farss wrote on 2/5/2004, 12:04 AM
If your serious about capturing analogue unless you've got a VCR with a TBC buy the ADVC-300. You don't need the extra features it has on everything granted and it does cost a bit more but come the day you need time base correction the extra cost will have long faded from your memory.

I just captured 3 hours from SP via the 300, I had the choice of it or a Miranda DV bridge going in component. The advice I got was the 300 would do a better job and the DV bridge is worth 5 times as much. Problem with the DV bridge is again no TBC so if you've got a jitter on the tape it'll look very nasty once it's digitized.
Of course you could spend even more and buy a more upmarket box than the 300.
johnmeyer wrote on 2/5/2004, 12:23 AM