Another New User, more dropped frames (going to black)

Kalona wrote on 2/19/2005, 7:50 PM
Hi, I'm new to Vegas Video and NLE. I've gotten as far as DVD #2 in the Vegas 4.0 Editing Workshop and am trying to use my newfound knowledge to put 5 video clips together into one 30 minute video presentation (2nd grade performance on Penguins in the Antartica).

I'm not sure if it's the same as dropped frames, but I'm having lots of frames go black in the preview window, intermittently blinking between the video and black. This bit of video was taken with a Sony Camcorder TRV350 (Digital 8) and captured using Pixela -- for some reason I couldn't capture it using Vegas Video capture, resulting in an MPEG file. The other 4 pieces of video are in miniDV format and I was able to capture them using Firewire with no problem.

I've varied the size of the preview window, but still get the same results.
The machine is a Dell 8250, 2.4 Ghz, over 1 Gig memory. I'm writing to an external drive, 240 GB.
I do have Norton Antivirus running.

No matter what I do, when it gets to this part of the video, the pictures drops out, although I can still hear the audio. When I look at it outside of Vegas, it's fine. File size is 590MB.

I'd appreciate any help, thanks.

Sharon

Comments

Spot|DSE wrote on 2/19/2005, 7:58 PM
The black is likely due to the Pixela and how it encodes MPEGs. Keep in mind that MPEG is made of Groups of Pictures, and only a limited number of frames have full information in them. I don't know what set of GOP Pixela uses, but I'd highly recommend recapturing them. Can you plug your Hi8 cam into your Firewire cam and use the Firewire device as a passthrough so it's seeing analog to the Firewire device, and digital thereafter?
Kalona wrote on 2/19/2005, 9:17 PM