BSD Problems after (not during) running of either VMS17 or Pro19

robbif2 wrote on 7/15/2022, 7:29 AM

I'm having Windows 10 BSD problems that seem to happen only after (not during) running either VMS17(204) or Pro 19(532). I've been running those 2 versions for many months. The BSDs happen at seemingly random times, even during shutdown. Both editors still have their VERY frequent crashes, the the BSDs occur even with clean-boot, non-crash sessions.

I obviously suspected the video driver, or something stepping on it, which had not changed in over a year. I updated the driver and the problem still exsists. There have been several recent Windows updates.
After a clean boot, I've also run Photoshop CS6 and a recent version of MS Flight Sim (the only "game" I have) with no BSDs.

Before I go any further I want to anticipate your 1st question and ask the best way/app/procedure to capture my configuration to add to my profile, long overdue. Then please bear with me since it may take a while before I respond with all the details.
Thanks!

Comments

Dexcon wrote on 7/15/2022, 7:57 AM

Before going any further, try updating your VMS17 to the last build - build 223 (happy to be corrected on the build number) - and VP19 build 643, and see how they go with your system. If your computer is connected to the internet when you open either of these programs, it's surprising if you are not getting an unavoidable 'nag' window to update to the latest build.

Cameras: Sony FDR-AX100E; GoPro Hero 11 Black Creator Edition

Installed: Vegas Pro 16, 17, 18, 19, 20 & 21, HitFilm Pro 2021.3, DaVinci Resolve Studio 18.5, BCC 2023.5, Mocha Pro 2023, Ignite Pro, NBFX TotalFX 7, Neat NR, DVD Architect 6.0, MAGIX Travel Maps, Sound Forge Pro 16, SpectraLayers Pro 11, iZotope RX10 Advanced and many other iZ plugins, Vegasaur 4.0

Windows 11

Dell Alienware Aurora 11

10th Gen Intel i9 10900KF - 10 cores (20 threads) - 3.7 to 5.3 GHz

NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER 8GB GDDR6 - liquid cooled