Building a DCP (Digital Cinema Package) with Vegas

entilza72 wrote on 3/22/2013, 8:45 AM
Hi gang,

I've just come out of a project where I built a DCP of a project I'd edited on Vegas. For those that do not know, a DCP (Digital Cinema Package) is how cinemas play films these days. You no longer have to pay tens of thousands of dollars to strike a print - you can DIY.

The Vegas project looked fantastic on the big screen!

I found solid DCP information hard to come by, especially for Vegas, so I promised to return and paste up what I found out. Here goes!

WARNING - I'm not an expert. I simply lived through the project and can tell you what I did to get a reasonable result. Some of this was obtained by reading, other parts by asking, and others again were confirmed through trial and error with a very helpful cinema.

Vegas Config:

Video: Set your project to a 2K template (or 4K if your source material is 4K). Use either a "Widescreen" (16:9) template, or build a "Scope" 2.35:1 template if your project is 2.35:1.

Pixel format: 8 bit.
There's some contention around this choice. See discussion below. There's a bug in current versions of vegas with Sequenced Image output gamma level for 32 bit projects. So if you want more than 8 bit, you'll need to render a video that supports that, then slice it up into images somehow. There's also considerable debate in these forums on what (if anything) 32 bit yields you anyway.

Frame rate: 24 fps. You might be able to get away with 23.976. Try for 24. A lot of cinemas do not support frame rates outside of 24fps as they are running older servers.

Audio: 24 bit, with either 96,000 Hz sample rate or 48,000 Hz. They are the only two supported sample rates.

Of course, you can go HIGHER than these settings in the project, but please make sure your DCP project files (your Vegas renders) conform to these specs.

Rendering: