Do I Need Vegas 5 or Sonar 3 for audio only

PeterVred wrote on 4/22/2004, 12:46 PM
I do ONLY AUDIO recording...I am a lo-budget hobbyist studio (grossing $5K/yr).

I have been using vegas 4 for a while. Vegas replaced my two ADATS. Now that V5 is out, it's looks like the upgrades are good. But I have to ask, is now the time to switch to SONAR as a budget minded software. I would like to have drum machine, guitar processing and looping options that I don't now have (without purchase of Acid). Not that I'm sure Sonar has those, but I think so. I have heard that Sonar is better as an audio program.

I have looked at screen shots of Sonar and it looks more complicated, but I can learn. I have also heard said that the NEW LOOK of Vegas 5 is not so pleasing and that bothers me. It reminds me of when I first saw Cool Edit and how "toyish" it looked when compared to Sound Forge. I do believe that Client impression is important.

Anyone have any opinions?

Comments

kbruff wrote on 4/22/2004, 1:18 PM
We are in a similiar situation. I have been using Vegas 4 for like 2 years no, and I love it.

However after seeing Cubase SX I think it will be a better way to proceed since you have

(01) Rewire
(02) VST / VST System link / Direct X
(03) Sequencing (In depth MIDI control, [pan, phase, volume, after touch])
(04) Multitrack recording
(05) User configurable BUS routing
(06) Surface Control
(07) VST track Freezing
(08) so much stuff -- ARGGGH

and it is no too expensive like $600.00

So I am pretty much a Sonic Foundry Head, but there is temptation to delay the upgrade to Vegas 5, and put the money towards Cubase.

Furthermore you cannot use the TC Electronic Power Core with any Sony / Sonic Foundry program.

I want to look into the TC Electronic Power Core and some of the restoration features as an alternative to WAVES products, and also for extensive mastering and VST add ons.

Its all in the future, but in the present my Sony / Sonic Foundry deployment works very well.