Export an OMF? or cleanest path to do so?

chap wrote on 3/17/2015, 9:31 PM
Longtime vegas editor, I am now getting a lot of work from bigger studios here in Hollywood, and recently completed a job where they needed an OMF output.

Problem being, I am a Vegas editor so I couldn't seem to work it out.

I have over 40 tracks of audio including sound effects and music (its a cartoon!). Normally we do the first edit with scratch audio, and then after they have the actors in they are looking then to get the OMF once the clean audio is put in to the animatic.

Any suggestions on a path to getting an OMF out?

I was thinking I could render the SFX and Music to separate tracks, then just use the audio tracks and the final edits and export to Premiere, then create the OMF from there.

If I only have one or two tracks it is usually not too hard to export to premiere.

Better would be OMF support.

Chap

Comments

videoITguy wrote on 3/17/2015, 10:17 PM
File Type Open Media Framework File
Developer ---Avid Technology

File Format Description

Standard audio/video format based on the Open Media Framework Interchange (OMFI), a standardized interchange file format; may be exported from digital video editing or audio workstation (DAW) software; commonly used to share project data between multiple applications.

An audio project saved in the OMF format can store multiple audio tracks, volume and pan information, and references to audio files. However, not all settings, such as insertion effects and channel routing options, may be saved in an OMF file. Therefore, not all project and track settings may be transferred when opening an OMF file in another application.
farss wrote on 3/17/2015, 10:37 PM
[I]"Better would be OMF support."[/I]

Not going to happen without the risk of stuff up for the reasons explained above.