Help with finding hardware

rictheobscene wrote on 5/2/2008, 7:31 AM
I have Vegas 8, and all I have used it for thus far is importing video of my son from a handycam to the computer. I am by no means a power user, and I have just scratched the surface of what Vegas can do. Basically, my handycam sits out on firewire and Vegas rules the show. I guess you could say that I am a total amateur

I have been asked by the local senior citizens group to transfer some home made video tapes of some of their past events to DVD. What I am looking for is a device that will sit out on firewire, that will accept the composite video and audio signal from a VCR such that Vegas can record it in. I know that Vegas won't be able to control the VCR like it does my Handycam, and that's OK. I just want to get the video and audio from the VCR onto the PC. Therefore, I turn to the more knowledgable people in this field for some suggestions.

If it had been someone other than some senior citizens on a fixed income, I would have suggested that they locate a professional, but I feel like I should try to help them out if it is within my means to do so.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Comments

Jeff9329 wrote on 5/2/2008, 7:42 AM
There are many analog to digital converters with firewire output on the market today. You shouldn't have a problem finding one.

I use the Canopus AVDC 110. It may be a little expensive for your project @ $240USD, but it works great.

You can see it here.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814144214

Here is a description:
Canopus' ADVC110 is a one box video conversion system that makes transferring files easy. The front panel has a 4 pin FireWire port plus S-Video and composite inputs along with RCA audio in ports. The back panel has a 6 pin FireWire port, plus S-Video and composite outs plus RCA audio outs. Push the input select button to switch between analog and digital in. Then send the signal to a recording console or computer.