How can i use audio editor only on a portion of the track?

Blckassn wrote on 6/18/2019, 1:57 PM

Hello,

I'm a new Vegas Pro 15 user and I'm trying to use the audio editor for the first time. I setup my preferences so Audacity is my preferring audio editor. I right click on the track, open in audio editor, and it opens. But the issue is that it opens the entire 4hr original video, as opposed to the 2hrs i'm currently working on.

The original video was 4hrs, and I deleted 2hrs that I didn't need. When I try to open the audio editor, it opens the entire 4hrs. Is there a way to only open the 2hrs that I need? Or a way to only open what is selected?

Comments

Marco. wrote on 6/18/2019, 2:20 PM

Vegas Pro can only send the source clip to external applications. So you'd either need to prerender the section or you might try if you could do same thing you intend to do in Audacity directly in Vegas Pro instead.

Blckassn wrote on 6/18/2019, 2:40 PM

I thought this might be the answer. Thank you.

wwaag wrote on 6/18/2019, 7:21 PM

@Blckassn

One way to get around this is to first render your edited audio to a new track using the Microsoft Wave format. Then open the new track event in your audio editor. A better way is to then right click and select Open Copy in Audacity. A copy is rendered and added as a take The take is then opened in your Audio Editor. You can then edit and if you mess things up, you can easily go back to the original and start over.

Dexcon wrote on 6/18/2019, 7:32 PM

Vegas Pro can only send the source clip to external applications