Is this a stupid question? m2t -> avi

Noggle wrote on 9/2/2008, 5:35 PM
Hi All,

I'm still fairly new to HDV editing (from a Canon HV30) and I always do as much reading as possible before jumping in so as to avoid problems. Often the reading takes less time than trying to sort out the problems! These are things I think I have worked out:

1. Although Vegas Pro 8 edits HDV m2t files, it seems that it would prefer not to and is often sluggish and clunky. Editing avi files is still the way to go. T or F?

2. The Cineform Neo programs capture the HDV files from tape and converts the m2t into an avi wrapper. T or F?

3. This is because it's much better (for many various reasons) to edit avi files (e.g. lower degradation) rather than m2t files. T or F?

4. Therefore, if we can't afford the Neo program(s) and are willing to put in the effort, after Vegas Pro 8 captures an HDV tape as m2t files it would profit us all to render these to an avi wrapper and then edit the avis. T or F?

As I said, this might be a really dumb question, but I want to work in the best manner (which may end up being to fork out some $ for the Neo HDV program).

Thanks.

Regards,
Noggle

Comments

johnmeyer wrote on 9/2/2008, 6:07 PM
1. Although Vegas Pro 8 edits HDV m2t files, it seems that it would prefer not to and is often sluggish and clunky. Editing avi files is still the way to go. T or F?

Both. Editing m2t works very well for simple project and where you don't have really complicated compositing. Also, if you capture your HDV in Vegas (and don't use, for example HDV Split), the performance should be pretty reasonable.

That said, if you convert to Cineform AVI, except for the time it takes to do the conversion and the 60 GB vs. 13 GB of space Cineform takes, everything else (performance and quality) is better.

2. The Cineform Neo programs capture the HDV files from tape and converts the m2t into an avi wrapper. T or F?