Issues with video/color quality and chroma key

dmart08 wrote on 5/12/2016, 2:40 PM
I'm having a couple different problems with a video I'm working on. I've Googled and YouTubed as hard as I can, but haven't been able to find the answers I'm looking for. I'm a beginner and I'm doing my best, so please don't eat me alive.

Issue #1: I'm working with high-definition video files, and set my project properties to match the properties of those files. Everything looks great in the preview pane, but once I render the project, the contrast of the video gets all jacked up, and looks garish. The quality definitely doesn't look HD, either.

Here's a picture of what I'm talking about:
http://i.imgur.com/4bhTplr.jpg

And here are the project properties and rendering settings that I'm using, along with the properties of the videos being used in my project:
http://i.imgur.com/T4UrC61.jpg

What am I missing, here? What can I do to preserve the colors and quality of my video?

Issue #2: No matter what I do, using the chroma keyer for my green screen causes the other parts of the video- especially the black areas- to be grainy. There's also a distinctive crackle around the edges of the area that's showing through, which is very distracting.

Here's a picture that shows what my green screen looks like without the chroma keyer plugin, alongside a shot with the plugin selected:
http://i.imgur.com/n6PyJUe.jpg

When I adjust the selected color to be the same as the darker green that's actually in the background (instead of neon green), the problems only get worse.

Are there any FX or other tricks I can use to improve the chroma-keyer-friendliness of the green screen I'm working with, so I can preserve the dark colors that aren't being keyed out and have less crackle around the edges?

Thanks so much for reading!

Comments

Marco. wrote on 5/12/2016, 2:59 PM
Any chance to upload a frame grab out of your green screen video? It would be easier to see what works best if we could try ourself.