Comments

Gary James wrote on 9/18/2014, 2:51 PM
There's far more to it than simply 'Learning how to write scripts".

(1) First off, scripts are computer programs written in one of a few computer programming languages. If you are already a competent programmer in C# or Javascript then you can proceed to step #2.

(2) Learn the Vegas Pro Programming API. Scripts are nothing more than programs that make calls into the Vegas library functions that Vegas itself makes use of through all of its menus and keystrokes. Once you become familiar with the Vegas API, then you'll have to learn how to create the standard template that all scripts follow that allows Vegas to call into you script to run it.
Byron K wrote on 9/18/2014, 3:29 PM
Thanks Gary!
I'm familiar w/ C programming tough I'm not a developer, I've programmed micro processors and wrote small programs for myself. Just wondering if there's a reference of commands and procedure calls someplace.

Also curious if SCS offer classes?
Gary James wrote on 9/18/2014, 5:06 PM
Go to this web page and download the appropriate script developers kit for your version of Vegas Pro. Later versions of Vegas have new API calls that earlier versions don't have. A script written using one of the "newer" API calls can't be run on an older version of Vegas Pro. Scripts are forward compatible, but not backward. My scripts and Extensions are written for Vegas Pro v8.0 so they'll work with any version of Vegas.
wwaag wrote on 9/18/2014, 5:38 PM