Motion tracking - strange behavior

AlesCZ wrote on 4/22/2019, 1:16 PM

Hello,

Today I bought Vegas Pro 16, mainly for motion tracking and new stabilization.
I noticed that tracking is not accurate at all. Not applicable to professional work. I studied why this was happening. I found that the resulting keyframes are shifted one frame. If I move the object one frame forward, tracking is quite accurate (position only). Rotation and zoom continue to behave strangely. Maybe, not data paste to object?
So, the position works if you move everything one frame forward(check my screenshot). Rotation and zoom do not understand yet.
I was looking at other VP16 users' Youtube videos, they all have motion tracking terrible.

Comments

Grazie wrote on 4/22/2019, 1:58 PM

Yup, I’m listening.

AlesCZ wrote on 4/22/2019, 2:04 PM

Please, check this test video:
Another test:

Dimitrios wrote on 4/22/2019, 11:12 PM

The tracking works pretty good for tracked objects with a decent amount of contrast and not too fast of movement. But it's 2D tracking it's never going to look that good for the kind of motion that's going on in the shots for that you would need a 3D motion tracker.

AlesCZ wrote on 4/22/2019, 11:46 PM

Of course I know it's a classic 2D motion tracking. It is a so-called 2,5D tracking, ie position, rotation and size.
The problem is that this tracker has an error and needs to be fixed. Then it will be accurate and usable.
The second problem is that the PiP script only copies the location. If he copied the location, size(Scale) and rotation(Angle), the script would be great. Unfortunately, keyframes cannot be copied manually. I would have to copy the frame by frame and that would be a long time. Not usable.

However, the Size parameter may not be used for PiP. PiP does not have separate width and height parameters. But the Angle parameter should be no problem. But I can't write scripts or fix functions. I just need it to work properly.