Newbie question

Mike C wrote on 3/19/2006, 8:16 AM
I've just upgraded from VF to VMS. I didn't do much with VF other than make a small movie, so I'm a beginner.

My question is: I have a large .mpg file that I want to make a video of a subsection of the file, so I do want to put the whole file as an event on the timeline, i.e., I just want the portion that I want to be the video? Can someone direct me to Help section where this is described or give me a clue on the "correct" way to do this.

2nd question: I have another .mpg file with shots from a different camera/angle. Where would I put another events from the 2nd video, i.e., would they all go on the Video timeline or would I put the other shots on another tracks.

I'm looking a good discussion of how to make videos.

Thanks.

Comments

Chienworks wrote on 3/19/2006, 12:33 PM
#1 - The simplest thing to do is to put the whole file on the timeline, find where the section you want starts, press S to split, then delete the part before it, and then find where that second ends, split again, and delete the part afterwards.

#2 - Using two separate tracks is probably the easiest way to go here. Use Split & Delete to cut out the parts you don't want from the upper track and the lower track will show through. Use the fade function if you want to crossfade from one track to the other.
Mike C wrote on 3/21/2006, 2:18 PM
Thank you. I've gotten most of this to work.

Another problem I'm having is rendering. I need to render a movie to either an .avi, .mpeg or .mov file because that's all my ISP allows me to stream. However, I can't seem to set the compression to get the movie file small enough (`10 MB).

I can get the Quick Time movie file rendered but the audio stutters all the way through. Any ideas what's causing this? Do I need Apple's pro version of QT?

For the .avi & .mpg format, VMS doesn't seem to let me set the bitrate?

Mike
Spot|DSE wrote on 3/21/2006, 4:52 PM
No, you don't need Quicktime Pro.