OT:Anyone record video through the windshield?

wwaag wrote on 2/21/2011, 5:52 PM
I'm just an amateur who enjoys documenting road trips with "out-the-windshield" video footage. Here's a pic of my current setup.

[IMG=http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y91/wwaag76/P1010093_new.jpg]

Still using an old Sony HC1 with a remote controller mounted on the handbrake lever for start/stop/zoom/still pics. For recording, I set the focus to manual infinity, reduce the Automatic Exposure by 1, increase Camera Color by 1, and set the mic levels to manual. The mic is swiveled around to emphasize passenger comments rather than engine noise.

My main problem has been controlling reflections and glare. Up to now, I've been using a black cloth laid across the dash, although I have just ordered a non-reflective dash cover which, if nothing else, should be more convenient. I also use a lens hood and lastly a circular polarizing filter. The filter seems to work OK, except that it cannot be continuously adjusted--I just set it initially, and then hope for the best as direction changes.

If anyone else has been recording such video, I would really appreciate any comments you might have regarding my setup--especially, the use of the polarizing filter. Also any suggestions regarding the camera settings I've been using. Thanks in advance.

wwaag

AKA the HappyOtter at https://tools4vegas.com/. System 1: Intel i7-8700k with HD 630 graphics plus an Nvidia RTX4070 graphics card. System 2: Intel i7-3770k with HD 4000 graphics plus an AMD RX550 graphics card. System 3: Laptop. Dell Inspiron Plus 16. Intel i7-11800H, Intel Graphics. Current cameras include Panasonic FZ2500, GoPro Hero11 and Hero8 Black plus a myriad of smartPhone, pocket cameras, video cameras and film cameras going back to the original Nikon S.

Comments

ushere wrote on 2/21/2011, 6:32 PM