OT: Camera conundrum Canon XF-?00

jpenn wrote on 9/21/2012, 8:25 AM
I just sold my Canon XL1s. you know the two happiest days of your life are the day you buy your new (boat or camera) and the day you sell your (boat or camera). I am not a professional. I’m more of an uber hobbyist I occasionally make some money with it but not enough to support the habit. I’ve already got my sights on the camera I want but price is an issue. I was looking at the Canon XF300 but at present I’ve only save enough for the XF100. My question is to the people who are familiar with these two cameras, do you think I would be satisfied with the single sensor XF100 or is there a big enough difference with the XF3000 that I should wait and save up for the XF300?

Thanks
John

Comments

farss wrote on 9/21/2012, 9:12 AM
I'm not really that familiar with either of those cameras but if it helps any the 3 sensor Vs 1 sensor issue pretty much comes down to performance in low light, all else being equal.

3x 1/2" sensors compared to 1x 1/2" is quite a dramatic difference when the light gets low. Optics also counts, in low light a faster lens can make a considerable difference.

Given that I think you are the best person to answer the question. If you plan to shoot in low light then yes, the difference could be worth the extra money. If not, save your money for something else. Oh and don't ignore the size / weight factor.

Bob.
videoITguy wrote on 9/21/2012, 9:46 AM
There is a substantial difference between the Canon XF100 and the XF300 and PRICE is the biggest difference. I am a professional and it would be a huge compromise for me to settle for the XF100.

YET, for 99.9% of the use you might give the camera -YOU would not see the difference. Why is that?