OT: forum setting to hide user messages

cbrillow wrote on 2/1/2010, 9:24 AM
I've been visiting this forum for about 6 years, and, until now, haven't let any individual user get under my skin to the point where I wanted to avoid seeing his or her posts displayed with all the others. That day has arrived -- first time for everything, I guess...

There used to be a forum setting where this could be accomplished, but I'm not able to find it. Can anyone help?

Comments

musicvid10 wrote on 2/1/2010, 9:26 AM
It was eliminated when they revamped the forum a few years back. I too would like to see it return. That being said, I hope it is not my annoying posts you were referring to . . .
cbrillow wrote on 2/1/2010, 10:36 AM
No, musicvid, not at all. It's fine to have differences of opinion. For every time I've disagree with something you've written, there are probably several times that I silently nodded in assent.

Thanks for the info --- that's what I was afraid of. I know a lot of users were doing that in the 'Billyboy' days, but I never did.
musicvid10 wrote on 2/2/2010, 8:11 AM
Wow, if you now want to put someone on "Ignore," but never did so with bb, someone must have really put a pebble in your boot.
TheHappyFriar wrote on 2/2/2010, 9:01 AM
the "issue" with the ignore was that it wouldn't just ignore that person, it would not show all the replies that person had. The forum threads actually branch out, like a drive structure, but normally you don't see that. so, in a sense, if you ignored me (for example) & everybody who posted after me hit "reply" to my post you'd never see any replies.

Plus it didn't ignore new threads, you always saw that.
cbrillow wrote on 2/2/2010, 10:01 AM
"bb" was opinionated, often belligerent and argumentative, but he was knowledgeable and he did try to help when he wasn't spouting off on something. Generally, if I don't like the way a thread is going, I'll stop reading, and that worked very well in those situations.