OT Unwanted rubbish with ImgBurn

PeterWright wrote on 4/30/2015, 2:19 AM
I had occasion to download ImgBurn, and was very careful to only click buttons which said "Download IMG BURN" but somehow more than a dozen unwanted programs installed themselves on my PC.

I went through Control Panel and Uninstalled most of the rogue software, but one remained stubborn.

It is called Crossbrowse, and when I right clicked on it and selected Uninstall, a small window opens saying "Please close all Crossbrowse windows and try again."

There are NO Crossbrowse windows open, but this dialog box came up every time and prevented me from Uninstalling.

I've now used System Restore to get rid of it but I'm wondering, what sanctions are there against software companies using these dirty tactics?

And does anyone have a link to a "Clean" download of IMG BURN?.


Grazie wrote on 4/30/2015, 2:30 AM
Yeah, I bet that Crossbrowse "piggy-backs" on the IMGBurn stuff and has no ties to the CB ad/bug.

Do a YouTube search for Crossbrowse . . and stand well back!

Thanks for the heads-up Pete.


Geoff_Wood wrote on 4/30/2015, 2:34 AM
A while ago the ImageBurn installer sneaked (I think) Ask toolbar in - it was deselectable in the installer, but hidden away somewhere obscure . I guess they have now got worse - sad ;-(

farss wrote on 4/30/2015, 4:13 AM
[I]" And does anyone have a link to a "Clean" download of IMG BURN?."[/I]

The latest version is SetupImgBurn_2.5.8.0.exe. Hasn't changed since 2013.

It is very difficult to find the right link on the ImgBurn website. I went to download it again a couple of days ago and several times clicked the wrong link.

Microsoft seem to say Crossbrowse is a pain but benign, it's purpose is to make money for the author. MS have a tool to remove it.

TheHappyFriar wrote on 4/30/2015, 5:47 AM
I went to install CamStudio yesterday and had the same thing. The official download link gives you a download with a bunch of crap. I find out this morning you can get a download that has no crap over a sourceforge, but it's nowhere on the OFFICIAL site.

I've noticed this with other software too. Seems the authors are allowing this to get some extra $$. No other way it would be on the official pages.
farss wrote on 4/30/2015, 6:40 AM
I believe this is where you have to click:

There's many other much larger things on the same page with big Download buttons that you don't want to click.

PeterDuke wrote on 4/30/2015, 7:01 AM
Wikipedia says: "Versions on included optional Ask.com adware in the installer, which was replaced in version with OpenCandy adware."

You can get here
Tech Diver wrote on 4/30/2015, 10:17 AM
I too use and plan to stick with it ad infinitum. It is the last "clean" version produced.

Larry Clifford wrote on 5/4/2015, 3:42 PM
I installed V on February 2 and bypassed all "optional" junkware. I also don't see Crossbrowse in my list of installed programs.

I have a copy of V here:
but I see other links before mine.

I previously had BurnAware V, but deleted it and installed ImgBurn V Some MP3 files created with BurnAware would not play on some players. ImgBurn has worked every time (at least so far).
DGates wrote on 5/6/2015, 2:15 AM
I LOVE ImgBurn. That being said, I've been real careful to never click on the 'update to new version' prompt.