portable dvd vs. laptop

dara wrote on 9/10/2003, 9:39 AM
I need a way to show people my projects (I'm a professional/amatuer/ hobbyist--doing projects for friends of friends. . .). thought about a portable dvd player--only about $250-350, but of course that's all it does. thought about laptop for the versatility, but that's about 3xs the cost.

question: can I get a decent laptop for a decent price that will run 8 min projects decently? or should I go w/ the port dvd?

any opinions?
thanks
D

Comments

johnmeyer wrote on 9/10/2003, 10:38 AM
I have no idea why anyone would buy a portable DVD player. I purchased a great laptop on eBay two years ago for about $700. It has a 15" screen, DVD player, etc. Has video output too. I edit on it in the field, capture directly to it (great for time lapse, or for captures longer than a one hour DV tape can hold). And I use it in the car for the kids on long road trips (I plug a cassette adapter into the headphone jack, and we can hear the movie through the car's quad speaker/subwoofer sound system).

For your application, the 15" screen is the key. Even if none of the other things mentioned above make a difference to you, the impact to your clients of a large screen will make all the difference in the world. In addition, the ability to plug into any projector via either NTSC output (get a laptop with video out) or VGA (most portable projectors support VGA) gives you the ability to do large format presentations.
Chienworks wrote on 9/10/2003, 11:12 AM