Possible stupid questions....

Larry1 wrote on 5/26/2005, 8:19 PM
Howdy,

I'm new to CD Architect (CDA) and Red Book audio, so please forgive. I've read in the manual that CDA leave a 2 second blank between takes to comply with Red Book, but why does it have the '-2:00' sec count down? We don't see this in commercial CDs. Also, I can hear the 2sec space even if on the ending track I've reduced the volume all down using SF. Is this common experience? Am I missing something, or is this not mentioned in the manual?

Further, as an experiement, eliminating the 2 sec gap between tracks on the CD line to remove the count down, I hear this soft kinda muffled pop (for lack of better words) between tracks when listening in the car. Anyone with similiar experience, or what am I hearing?

Any tips on making a professional sounding CD with CDA. This sounds silly 'cause basically CDA is so easy to use. Is the goal of CDA to provide a CD master to a printing facility, or can I get similar results at home?

Using SoundForge, should I leave a blank second at the beginning and end of my tracks? Don't leave any blank time at the beginning or end? If I have space, then that adds to gap between tracks.

Silly question I know, and I'm pretty tired, so I migh nott be making complete sense. Anyway, thought I seek some advice.

Thanks

Larry

Comments

MikeDee wrote on 6/6/2005, 1:21 PM
Based on my personal experience, I perform the following for all of my "non-live" [no live audience sounds] music tracks:

1. I include 3-4 seconds of silence at the end of each tune. The length of the silence depends on how the song ends (e.g., fade) and, thus, how the it "flows" into the next tune. Doing this obviates the need for the 2-second gap between songs (of which I am not a fan). I include the silence in all tunes so that I can order them however I wish.