Render Problem

Yep wrote on 12/31/2014, 9:28 AM
I've been using Vegas Pro 13 now for about 7 months with remarkably few problems.

However over the last week I've had significant problems getting one project to render. The original media is 1920x1080 10mbps. The project length is 65mins 30secs length. I've been trying to render to 1920x1080 60i 10Mbps. Numerous attempts ended in render failure at around the 43% mark.

I had about 550 Gig free space on my hard drive and though I didn't think it would help I freed up another 275 Gig just to see what would happen.

The next attempt saw the render fail at a tantalising 94%. Now I'm wondering if the additional free space on my hard drive had anything to do with it - or was that just a matter of chance? I'm not very techy, but it would appear to me that 825 or even 550 Gigs of free space should be more than enough for a render of that type. I'd be very interested in hearing opinions.

My basic PC specs are

Win 7 Pro 64bit
8 Gigs Ram
Intel Core i7 CPU @ 3.50 GHz

I'm also wondering if upgrading to 16 Gigs Ram might be helpful. I have noticed that I can't run two instances of Vegas Pro at the same time without things going a bit wonky.

TIA

Comments

Chienworks wrote on 12/31/2014, 10:16 AM
Rendered output file size is determined by the length and the bitrate used; no other factors matter. You don't specify what bitrate you're using, however, 550GB would hold a 65 minute file at 1155Mbps, which is an insanely high value. At a more reasonable 16Mbps 550GB would hold about 4,693 minutes. It would seem that hard drive space is not an issue.

Perhaps you could tell us the output format, file type, codec, and any other options you're using.
Yep wrote on 12/31/2014, 12:41 PM
Thanks for the reply Chienworks. Sorry - should have included a bit more information.