Simple questions from a newbie

OldTimer wrote on 2/14/2003, 2:39 AM
I'm new to VV3 & I feel that there must be an easier way to do some of the simple things. Suppose that you have made 2 cuts on the timeline & you wish to crop the picture a little by zooming in on the frame by using the pan/crop tools. Is there an easy way to just click on the clip/event as a way of selecting the entire clip in question rather than having to use the looping tool which I often find difficult to adjust too frame accuracy? Once the whole of the correct selection is in the pan/crop tool window what is the easiest way to ensure that once you have correctly set the zoom at the first frame to have the exact settings on the last frame as well?

When you find that sound in an event needs adjusting it seems that if I use the volume slider on the left that I end up effecting the entire project when all I wish to do is adjust the one event. It seems to be a case of overkill to have to open the sound editor & make the adjustment there. Is the only other option to create another sound track & just drag the track for the clip in question onto it & make you adjustment when the earlier & latter events aren't touching the event your adjusting?

When you have made several cuts on the timeline & you have several caps which you want to eliminate is turning off auto crossfades the only way to ensure that the 2 clips are joined together & aren't overlapping?

Comments

AlexB wrote on 2/14/2003, 3:20 AM
Did you ever bother to look at the manual? It's all in there.

If you double-click on an event, you set the loop region to the length of that event. You could also use right-click context menue to set the loop to the length of the clip.
If you want to keep settings in a keyframe animated thing, just make sure you just adjust the values for the keyframe at the beginning, don't add another keyframe. But if you do, it gets the settings from the first one, until you alter them.