Single Frame Credit

Sullivan wrote on 7/17/2005, 8:44 PM
I have just agreed to give the author of a story "single frame credit" in a movie I am basing on his story. I just need help with one thing:

What's a single frame credit? I guess I assume that this means nothing on the frame but his name (and not that his name only shows for 1/24 second). But is there any more formal definition than that? Like can I have some background image or is it just a black field? How long should it last? 3 sec? 5 sec?

Comments

Grazie wrote on 7/18/2005, 12:11 AM
. . ask him? ;-)

Grazie
fwtep wrote on 7/18/2005, 12:54 AM
It doesn't have to be on black, and it can last as long or short as you want it, though it should be up about as long as the others. Take a look at any movie ind your collection to see. In a scrolling list it has to have enough empty space before and after it to ensure that at least for a second or two it'll be the only credit up there.

Also, make sure you're on the same page with the writer as to whether you're talking about titles or credits. Titles (or "front titles") are at the beginning of a movie and credits (or "roll" or "scroll") are at the end. Also make sure you clear it with him how you want to credit him, for example, "Story By" or "Based On A Story By" or 'From A Story By" or "Not Unlike A Story I Once Read By" or "This Bastard Made Me Put His Name Here," etc.

By the way, it's "single card" not "single frame."
Sullivan wrote on 7/18/2005, 7:45 AM
Grazie is right. I should have simply asked him. But I was afraid to appear non-professional. (So why am I not afraid to look silly to you guys?)

And I did have the "from a story by.." part very specific. With fwtep's input, I'll render something and email it to him for approval.

"Single Card" makes a lot more sense. Thanks!

"Not Unlike A Story I Once Read By" - Surely that was from "War of the Worlds" I must have missed it ;-)
Grazie wrote on 7/18/2005, 12:42 PM