sot. dumb windoz question...

ushere wrote on 4/17/2015, 11:54 PM
ok, i'm not completely computer illiterate, but...

i've just been reading about win 10, and it's wondrous new interface, cortana, spartan browser, etc., etc., in fact whatever i read about it revolves around it's gui, or security, or other 'obvious' attributes.

since i can pretty much run all my recent software (incl vegas) on any win os from say xp onwards, what's actually changing behind the scenes?

put more simply, is 10 going to make my software run faster? smoother? more reliably? or is it just another marketing ploy to get me to buy another os upgrade?

befuddled

Comments

Steve Grisetti wrote on 4/18/2015, 6:27 AM
I'm no technical expert so I can't tell you what's going on behind the scenes -- but I've been using Windows 10 for about 6 months and, even though it's still in beta, I love its look and feel.

I can't honestly say that it will change your life. Like most operating systems, the best thing about it is that you don't think about it while you're using it. I mean, I also use a Mac, and OSX has been through a half dozen iterations in the past decade -- but aside from some aesthetic changes, it's all the same to me.

That said, I've got a really good feeling about W10. I think it's going to be the OS that finally gives Microsoft the cred it's been striving for since XP. Like the Mac OS, it just works --- and it's got some interesting new features too.

Just don't expect it to really be all that different from Windows 7, as far as your day to day experience. As I said, about the highest compliment you can give any operating system is that, once you launch a program, you don't think about it.
TheHappyFriar wrote on 4/18/2015, 6:54 AM
You're worrying about the wrong thing. Windows 8.x:
*made my software run faster
*made my software run smoother
*more reliable vs XP/Vista/7