Tracks and pauses

JimJohnston wrote on 10/2/2005, 5:06 PM
I am new to CDA, and am confused about what exactly gets written to the CD from the timeline.
(Formerly, I extracted regions in SF to files and used Nero to burn from the wave files.)
Now, I import the SF wave file with tracks indicated by regions, and generate tracks from regions. The material between tracks/regions gets written to the CD. After the end of a preceeding track, the unwanted material is on the CD, and a count-down timer runs down until zero at the beginning of the material intended for this next track, whereupon it starts counting up normally. I do not know how to delete that unwanted material from the time-line.
I was under the impression that CDA could define what is wanted on the CD without having to modify the original media file.
I cannot find any descriptions or examples that go into these rather basic aspects.
Any help -- especially sources of elementary information -- will be greatly appreciated!
Thanks in advance.
Jim

P.S. I nothing else, I would like to know the nature/cause of the phenomenon of space between tracks causing the transition to a new track at the end of the old one with a count-down on the CD player's timer to zero at the beginning of the new track, and normal counting up during the playing of the designated track. (This does not happen with commercial CDs.)
Example: situation / CD player display:
playing to end of track 1
................................................track 1, timer counting up
end of track & starting 4 second space
...............................................track2, counting down from 4
begin of designated track 2
..............................................still track 2, counting up from 0

Comments

wymondham wrote on 10/5/2005, 9:55 AM
Hi There,