Transfer files from Mac External Drive to PC

paige wrote on 2/17/2011, 1:50 AM
Hello
I have googled this question and can't find an answer, I'm hoping someone can help!..

I have been given a Lacie Extermal Hard drive formatted for a Mac, and I need to transfer the files from this device to my PC (Win xp) to edit in Vegas.

It has both a firewire and USB connection - I have tried both - even though the message on my PC says "hardware is installed and ready to use" the drive is not visible on 'My Computer'.

The drive is also visible on the "Safely Remove Hardware' icon.

Can anyone offer a solution so I can see this drive to transfer the video files?

Thank you for your time
Paige

Comments

ChristoC wrote on 2/17/2011, 2:08 AM
You need a program like Macdrive (http://www.mediafour.com/products/macdrive/) installed so Windows can see and read/write a MAC formatted drive.
rs170a wrote on 2/17/2011, 3:40 AM
Another vote for MacDrive.
I've been using it for a few years now and it works as advertised.

Mike
paige wrote on 2/17/2011, 3:45 AM
Thank you both,
I'm downloading it now and will give it a try :-)
Steve Mann wrote on 2/17/2011, 7:25 AM
Third for MacDrive

I faced the exact same scenario a year ago. The client was frustrated by the number of other "pros" who couldn't get the video file from the mac-formatted drive. (I didn't tell him about MacDrive).

PerroneFord wrote on 2/17/2011, 7:35 AM
"Pro" is a VERY loosely defined term in this industry...
paige wrote on 2/17/2011, 3:35 PM
Thanks everyone!

Works a treat!

Now it looks like the mov files on the drive are P2 files - do I need Raylight Decoder?

Thanks again
Paige
Dave_OnSet wrote on 2/17/2011, 6:20 PM
Are you sure they are P2?
I always thought P2 were MXF files (different codec) in a 'CONTENTS' file structure.
Typically when I get .MOV files on a mac drive, they are FCP -- and I use the MOV-to-MXF converter from Convergent Design (the NanoFlash people).
paige wrote on 2/17/2011, 7:26 PM
Thanks Dave