Using Sonar to edit audio error

56speedster wrote on 9/30/2014, 9:53 PM
Hello: I am a newbie with Vegas Pro 13 so any help is appreciated. I am receiving an error in Sonar X3 when selecting audio to open in audio editor. The error that I am receiving is "Could Not Open file. The file may be damaged or incompatible with this version of Sonar".. I was wandering if anyone has experienced this problem. Thanks in advanced for any suggestions.

Comments

musicvid10 wrote on 9/30/2014, 10:09 PM
This is a Sony forum, not Sonar.
Two different companies.
56speedster wrote on 10/1/2014, 6:49 PM
Da,
Sometimes people can be helpful instead of being sarcastic. It is a compatibility issue between the two programs. I am sure there are other users that use both programs and could have dealt with this issue. Have a great day musicvid10 I don't need your help!
musicvid10 wrote on 10/1/2014, 9:54 PM

It looks like I misread your post. We get support requests for all kinds of third-party applications and plugins here; most of them go unanswered.

I have no earthly idea if opening Sonar as the preferred audio editor directly from the Vegas timeline works or not, nor do I know if such support is specifically mentioned in the literature.

I assume you've tried opening files rendered by Vegas in Sonar. If you get the same incompatibility message, post the complete MediaInfo properties here, and someone may be able to help. I began handing off audio files from Sonic Foundry to Cakewalk almost fifteen years ago. In that time, I'm sure I never invoked Cakewalk as my primary audio editor, although there may be some reasons to do so in Sonar.

Another alternative might be to post the same information on the Sonar forums. Welcome to the Sony peer forums, and best of luck.

pwppch wrote on 10/2/2014, 12:33 AM
I don't think musicvid10 was trying to be sarcastic.

So, you are trying to use Sonar as the editor of audio in Vegas.