VP17 - Weird URL and folder access

turboBB73 wrote on 8/1/2020, 10:52 PM

From VP15 when I click on: Help > Vegas Pro Home Page, it first goes to this URL which has a long string of Chinese characters in it:

(it does ultimately resolve to: https://www.vegascreativesoftware.com/us/vegas-pro/ as the final link)

I managed to copy the URL here (scanned with VirusTotal but yielded no hits):


Also, I just upgraded to Vegas 17 and right after installation, I got a pop up form my Anti-Virus as per attached screenshot. Why does Vegas need access to this particular folder?


(I've blocked it for now)

Has anyone else experienced either of these?

EDIT: The only thing related I could google was this thread (but not resolved):


Given Avast owns AVG - wondering if it's a false positive but would still like to understand the reason for Vegas utilizing that particular folder.



turboBB73 wrote on 8/22/2020, 12:30 PM

As a followup I just tried the VP18 Edit Trial version and my AV kicked in warning that mxdonwloadmanager.exe was again trying to update files in that protected folder. Does anyone have any thoughts on this?

EDIT: I didn't get screenshot of the 1st message but here's a second after installation completed: