Add text to bottom throughout video

graphic_girl wrote on 2/11/2011, 5:12 PM
Hi Again... (and I thought I was DONE! lol)

Newbie here... just finished FIRST video project (am graphic artist for print media and newbie to video/Vegas)

So I uploaded my finished video to the "Brainshark site" on Monday... and today I get an email from legal folks that a "disclaimer" text needs to appear at the bottom of the video throughout the entire presentation...

It is probably really simple and easy to do... but I LOVE this forum... and miss chatting with you guys... so I am throwing it out there...

Let me know if you need any other info...

Simple step by step instructions knowing that I know NOTHING about Vegas 10.0 would be GREATLY appreciated...

and thank you... you guys ROCK!!! :-)

gg

Comments

PeterWright wrote on 2/11/2011, 5:21 PM
Hi gg, greetings from Nanning, China

On a track ABOVE the rest of the video tracks, add a Generated Media / Text Event and drag the edge to cover the entire duration of your video. Choose a template with a chequerboard background, which means the background is transparent. If the template has a coloured background, this can still be made transparent by going to the Properties tab and dragging the Background Colour arrow next to the vertical panel to the bottom.

Back to the Edit tab - there will be the default words "Sample Text" at a font size of 72. Highlight this, change font size to something like 16, and type in the disclaimer text you need.

Now click on the Placement tab and under Text Placement, select Bottom Centre.

Now you can tweak your caption to look exactly as you want by changing font, colour (Under Properties) and add shadow or outline in the Effects tab. Colour and size of shadow or outline can be adjusted here - if a change does not appear in Preview immediately. click on the feather or width slider.

Once you're happy with everything, Render a new clip complete with captions.

Good luck