DVDA 5.2 - AVCHD>DVD's look terrible

24Peter wrote on 4/25/2014, 12:07 PM
Hi guys -

I shot a live event with a AG-AC90 PH 1080 30p AVCHD format. I am using DVDA 5.2 to make a SD DVD. I used the MainConcept MPEG-2 codec with the DVDA NTSC widescreen template - settings here: photo
It looks really bad. It is my first time using this camera though I have done DVD's with files from my Canon DSLR's with the same settings without issue. Any ideas?

Comments

rs170a wrote on 4/25/2014, 12:11 PM
How long is the event?
If it's less than 80 min., I use a CBR of 8,000,000. Anything longer and I use a bitrate calculator to determine optimum VBR 2-pass render settings.
Make sure you render in BEST mode.

Mike
MikeLV wrote on 4/25/2014, 12:58 PM
haha, I just put a post up about the exact same thing!

http://www.sonycreativesoftware.com/forums/ShowMessage.asp?MessageID=892961&Replies=0

Did you try playing back on an older CRT? Mine looked just fine on the CRT and quite lousy on the HD tv.....
musicvid10 wrote on 4/25/2014, 1:16 PM
There are two camps of thinking about bitrate.
Another thing to try is VBR 2 pass with the Minimum set at 2,000,000.
MikeLV wrote on 4/25/2014, 1:18 PM
I encoded mine with 2 pass, and at the template's 6mbps.
larry-peter wrote on 4/25/2014, 1:42 PM
I'm still using VP 11 mainly, but I doubt if anything has changed in the encoder implementation in the newer versions.

IMO, single pass VBR has always looked bad out of the MC encoder, and the minimum bitrate on that template is ridiculously low for anything other than simple motion graphics. I usually include ac3 and PCM audio in my DVDs, so I'm using a bitrate calculator all the time. If you can't do at least a 6,000,000 or above at CBR, use a bitrate calculator and get your min and average up as high as possible. And use 2 pass VBR. I think the extra time involved is worth it.
24Peter wrote on 4/25/2014, 1:48 PM