Everything slower and more unstable in VP21 300

hambonio wrote on 4/13/2024, 8:20 PM

I have been struggling along with build 300 since the release date last week. I have a hefty system that should be working just fine.

RTX-4090
R9-7950x
96GB RAM

Clips are XAVCS 10bit 4:2:2 from Sony FX30 and a7S III Cameras that I have been using for a few years. I can link media info here if I need to but I figure these are fairly common files at this point.

Previously I had no issues simply applying a LUT (not other FX) to my clips. My clips still played at real time. Now they are playing at 5-13fps at best and very choppy.

If I add any other fx to them I start getting 0.5-2fps playback.

Also my renders used to be in near real time (sometimes faster if no heavy fx). Now no matter what I use (any of MAGIX AVC/HEVC/AV1) Or any similar in Voukoder I am getting less than 2fps renders. Also tried transcoding some files to ProRes and not only did that render take much longer, but the files are not playing back any better than my XAVCS Raw files.

I would simply go back to an old version, but all my projects will not open there anymore and I would have to lose nearly a weeks worth of work to go back to older versions. I should have done this early on but I have been hoping for a fix/workaround so I keep torturing myself.

ALSO When I open a VP21 project, the CPU runs very busy/hot for 20minutes to more than 2 hours before it seems to settle down I don't even do anything with the project - but have let it run long periods to see what it is doing and why this is using so much CPU. And even when it does settle the framerate does not improve much. For a similar runaway CPU issue I know in the past I had to turn off the option in Vegas HUB explorer to not create project collection, but this option is still disabled.

I cannot edit more than 5-10 minutes on any project before it crashes.

TIA for any help!

EDIT I have tried both normal rendering and nVenc rendering of multiple flavors.