OT: Subscription software is bad for biz (RANT)

Cliff Etzel wrote on 7/2/2014, 11:16 AM
Although I have been using Adobe's post production software for the past 3 years, I was part of a study group 4 years ago when Adobe was exploring the idea of subscription based software only. One of the comments I made to the people doing the research/study was that there would come a point where creatives like myself would be in the middle of a project, and all of a sudden their software would just quit working. Well, it has happened as of this morning.

Software that was working as of yesterday no longer works today because Adobe's so called Activation has failed - which I find ironic since I was using said software yesterday and for the past month.

And Adobe's solution for Tech support? Send me to the community Forums which are of no help whatsoever.

Now I have a documentary project sitting in Premiere Pro CS6.0.5 that cannot be accessed. This may very well be the lynch pin that sends me back to Vegas Pro - especially with version 13 on the streets. I"m hoping the import of my premiere project file translates over smoothly as it was nothing but initial cuts after having used pluraleyes to sync audio

Anyone else who's running a mixed environment of Vegas and Adobe Apps run into a similar situation?

To say I'm frustrated is an understatement.

Cliff

Comments

PeterDuke wrote on 7/2/2014, 6:55 PM
I thought CS6 was licensed and activated forever while CC is subscription. I have never had any such issues with CS6.
JasonATL wrote on 7/2/2014, 8:00 PM
Cliff,

What kind of activation issue?

I started using Adobe CC a little over a year ago because Vegas Pro had become so unstable for me. Adobe CC worked reliably for me for about 14 months.