Why use the Trimmer?

Rich Parry wrote on 6/30/2011, 5:00 AM
I've been using VP for many years and never understood why I would use the Trimmer. I find it much easier to use the mouse to squeeze the video event from the right and left side to select a small portion of a large video clip.

I will assume VP has a Trimmer for a good reason but I can't think of it. Can someone tell me why I would use the Trimmer when a video event "squeeze" is so convenient.

thanks in advance,
Rich

CPU Intel i9-13900K Raptor Lake

Heat Sink Noctua  NH-D15 chromas, Black

MB ASUS ProArt Z790 Creator WiFi

OS Drive Samsung 990 PRO  NVME M.2 SSD 1TB

Data Drive Samsung 870 EVO SATA 4TB

Backup Drive Samsung 870 EVO SATA 4TB

RAM Corsair Vengeance DDR5 64GB

GPU ASUS NVDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti

Case Fractal Torrent Black E-ATX

PSU Corsair HX1000i 80 Plus Platinum

OS MicroSoft Windows 11 Pro

Rich in San Diego, CA

Comments

Mindmatter wrote on 6/30/2011, 5:32 AM
when I do sort of a first rough runthrough across a larger clip, I usually do a first view of the entire material in the trimmer, pick the best pieces on the fly using the In and Out points, and gradually add them to the timeline one by one . In my very first few sesions with vegas, i used to do it all on the timeline for some reason too, but I now find the trimmer thing more convenient and fast. You can still finetune the clips on the timeline via the mouse.

AMD Ryzen 9 5900X, 12x 3.7 GHz
32 GB DDR4-3200 MHz (2x16GB), Dual-Channel
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3070, 8GB GDDR6, HDMI, DP, studio drivers
ASUS PRIME B550M-K, AMD B550, AM4, mATX
7.1 (8-chanel) Surround-Sound, Digital Audio, onboard
Samsung 970 EVO Plus 250GB, NVMe M.2 PCIe x4 SSD
be quiet! System Power 9 700W CM, 80+ Bronze, modular
2x WD red 6TB
2x Samsung 2TB SSD

Former user wrote on 6/30/2011, 5:43 AM
YOu don't have to use the trimmer, but I use it all the time.