Tools - Multicamera - Synchronise Audio To Align Events - AWFUL

LEvi-Clay wrote on 6/1/2020, 4:01 PM

VEGAS PRO 17

Someone help me out here?

I've been using Vegas pro 13 for 5 years but got tired of minor sync issues in my videos from manually lining up my clapper by eye.

I had someone recommend Da Vinci Resolve which isn't just free... but does this for me at the press of a button, flawlessly.

I decided to not switch to the freeware and instead spend a fair amount of money to remain loyal to the software I know because I didn't want my workflow interrupted.

So someone tell me... why does this feature simply never work? I'm not talking about being a little off. I'm saying that it's off by MINUTES. I thought maybe my file was just too long, so I did a test just of me looking at the camera and clapping... nope... off by miles. How?!?!?!

I'm extremely unimpressed that I've spent all this money based on one feature... and it doesn't even close to work.

What's the deal?

Comments

michael-harrison wrote on 6/1/2020, 4:39 PM

You've got me curious. VP is supposed to have a feature to do this automatically? I'd never heard that. Where is it?

I've been doing it by eye for the last year and really, haven't found it that odious. One thing that helps a ton is to expand the audio waveforms with shift-up arrow. After that it's easy to line up the tracks and group them after alignment.

Marco. wrote on 6/1/2020, 5:01 PM

You'll find it in the Tools/Multicam options though it does not need a multicam project to be used.

Unfortunately this tool often just fails. Sometimes it does nothing at all, sometimes the clips will be off a large amount. Sometimes it works.

OldSmoke wrote on 6/1/2020, 5:05 PM