Brainshark, Aspect Ratio, and other problems

graphic_girl wrote on 1/25/2011, 10:19 PM
Newbie here... great with graphics and print media... just starting out with the video thing... Shot a video with a Kodak Zi8 at 720 (HD (16:9) 30 fps: 1280 x 720 @ 30 fps) and need to render and upload to Brainshark.com site. Their "best practices" document specifies aspect ratio of 4:3 with pixels of 720x540. Also, they recc rendering at 512kbps and MONO 9this thing is stereo and mono option greyed out).

There are a list of other recc specs but when I render as .mov using custom settings for 720x540 the video stretches, my beautiful graphics are all pixelated... and the audio which I equalized and perfected now sounds like he is in a tunnel... BADDDDDDDD.

I need direction and I need it fast... this project was due weeks ago and my boss is NOT happy with me... :-(

Please let me know what other info you might need...

Thanks for any and all assistance.

graphic_girl (aka gg)

Comments

farss wrote on 1/26/2011, 12:07 AM
gg,
I'd really like to help you but trying to get info from Brainshark is like pulling teeth.
Can you list ALL their specs or give a direct link their site where we can read them for ourselves?

In the interim as they want 4:3 and you've shot 16:9 I'd suggest doing a centre cutout i.e. simply crop the sides off the frame.

Without anything else specific not much else I can offer to help.

Bob.
ushere wrote on 1/26/2011, 1:48 AM
brainshark?

i'd be running a mile from them. as bob writes, they don't appear to give (have) any technicals at all....

i just had a look at a couple of their tuts - appalling. i've seen better pp presentations from 15 year olds...

couldn't believe it - so i watched some more - it doesn't get any better ;-(

btw. not much point asking questions in a survey thread.