VEGAS Pro Scripting API Wishes

NickHope wrote on 10/17/2016, 9:18 AM

Further to this post, here are 3 commands that I have really wanted to be able to access through scripting:

1. Post-edit ripple ( CTRL+F )
  2. Trim the start of the selected event to the cursor position ( ALT+[ )
  3. Trim the end of the selected event to the cursor position ( ALT+] )

I am no programmer, and I'm sure the scripting gurus will have many more requests for extending the scripting API.

Comments

altarvic wrote on 10/17/2016, 11:17 AM
  1. DO NOT delete or change existing methods and properties.
  2. New classes/methods/properties to work with Pan/Crop masks (create/edit/delete/copy...) 
  3. Let me decide whether or not to create Undo actions for my edits. For example, I want to create UI that updates Track Motion properties in real-time, i.e. I drag UI element and the position or rotation of a track is changed accordinally. I can not do this w/o generating tons of redundant Undo actions.
  4. Add full read/write support for all project properties: Pixel Format, Compositing Gamma, Deinterlace method etc.
  5. Add the name of the rendered file to Vegas.RenderStarted and Vegas.RenderFinished event.

For example, you can create the descendant of RenderStatusEventArgs class:

RenderStatusEventArgs2 = class (RenderStatusEventArgs)
    {
       string[] FileNames; // some renderers create several files
       string FileName;    // equals to FileNames[0]
    }

In this case you don't have to change delegate RenderStatusEventHandler(object sender, RenderStatusEventArgs args), just use the new class when you invoke RenderFinished event. This will ensure compatibility with old code.
    Alternatively, you can create new event Vegas.RenderFinished2 and Vegas.RenderStarted2

6. Methods to load / save plugin chains (aka filter packages)

You can implement them in Effects class, eg:

class Effects 
    {
       void SaveFilterPackage(string name);
       void LoadFilterPackage(string name);