This is disgusting and hope one day we'll stop seeing these videos.

ScrapyardFilms wrote on 7/9/2020, 7:17 AM

It's sad that this is among the first videos created whenever a new version comes out and that people flock to it to watch. It's just a video explaining hoe to steal from a company that works hard. They truly shouldn't legally be allowed to have this video live. It'd be like YouTube keeping a video on how to rob a bank or how to fake an injury for the insurance money alive and at the top of the search listings.

I'm not a coder by any means but really do hope one day there will be a really good way of keeping software from being so grossly pirated.

Comments

Kinvermark wrote on 7/9/2020, 8:56 AM

+1. I agree, it is offensive. Been a problem for years (particularly for Vegas) and why I refuse to help people who come here asking about SONY Vegas 14,15,16,17,18.... it's almost certainly a pirate.

There is some movement by lawmakers (particularly in the EU) to hold companies like Google and Facebook responsible for policing their content. But it's tricky, as I am sure you can imagine.

Musicvid wrote on 7/9/2020, 9:36 AM

They will never be controlled; they are Schmoos.

Get rid of one, and ten more show up to take their place. Aggressively.

It is incumbent on software makers to develop AI authentication that cannot be trapped, rather than finite algorithms that can.

Only then will the bottom feeders find something else to do with their time.

ScrapyardFilms wrote on 7/9/2020, 9:41 AM

I just wish YouTube was as vigilant at taking down these types of videos (if reported) as they were with immediately giving copyright claims to people.

Kinvermark wrote on 7/9/2020, 1:35 PM

Exactly. It CAN be done, they just don't want to.

Kinvermark wrote on 7/9/2020, 1:37 PM

@Musicvid

You are right, of course, in the broader sense - piracy can pop up all over the net. But Youtube/Facebook, etc. are highly visible and lend a certain kind of legitimacy to the piracy.